Statements and opinions

Meinungen-Wetjen-kleinThe close correlation between business aspects and the health industry were what attracted me most and ultimately why I chose to major in hospital management. I feel excellently prepared for the tasks my future job will bring thanks to my studies. I can’t wait to apply all that I have learned in real life now.
Stephanie Wetjen


Meinungen-Petersen-kleinI chose to major in hospital management because there are so many exciting and interesting opportunities connected to the health industry. I think, this degree programme will give me a perfect start to a successful career.
Jan-Hendrik Petersen


StudyingDiana_Siebenerat Flensburg University of Applied Sciences is a great way to get ready for a career in the growing health market.
The teaching staff were always there and accessible, this and Flensburg with its harbour make studying here a great experience.

Diana Siebener


tecklemburg
Dr. Andreas Tecklenburg, Member of the President’s Office responsible for the Division for Patient Care at Hannover Medical School

eHealth in the German health sector:

The German society is turning into a society of the elderly. There are more and more older people who need health care. In particular, health care will increasingly have to focus on chronical diseases. These diseases call for patients and service providers (doctors, hospitals, physical therapists etc.) to continuously stay in touch. The technical possibilities and modern means of communication provided by electronic health (eHealth) make it possible for patients and their therapists to continue treatment even in between those points in the therapy when face-to-face meetings are absolutely necessary. So eHealth not only makes life easier and more comfortable, it enables an ageing society to maintain its mobility on the one hand and remain living in their home environment on the other. eHealth applications make it possible for doctors to check in on their patients even from afar (only if the patient gives their consent of course).

Another aspect is communication between the various service providers. Everyday life in today’s German health sector is full of `redundant examinations and tests, misunderstandings and a lack of information. Because budgets, motivation and incentives and the rules for acquiring licenses differ, the various parts of the health sector do not cooperate as well as they could. And while eHealth will not be able to solve each if these problems, it will certainly facilitate communication between the individual participants and it may introduce a new way of exchanging information with each other. Patients will benefit from the fact that their therapists are able to communicate with each other no matter which part of the health sector they belong to. And hopefully in the future the number of x-rays, lab results and diagnoses getting lost or having to be done more than once will decrease.

In order for eHealth to establish itself, we need specialists. These specialists need to understand the technical aspects as well as the health sector as a whole. Flensburg University of Applied Sciences (FUAS) has once again recognised this development early on and offers their students an adequate degree programme.

It is an extremely valuable achievement for a university of applied sciences to be as innovative as this and to implement technological and societal developments in this manner. By doing so FUAS is rendering the additional service of qualifying people for the job market who will not only be able to provide new services but they will act as bridges between different groups of our society. These young people will be able to create an interface between a number of technological solutions.


What our students think:

There is an incredible potential in the health market. We have only just begun to use information technology and to connect the various systems and participants. I think my first degree in business informatics is the ideal basis to combine the technical knowledge I am acquiring in this master’s programme with.
Alf Rohde

For us students the master’s degree programme here at FUAS is the ideal preparation for our future careers in the health sector. I was able to add on to and expand the knowledge I had gained in my previous studies of Public Health with a major in health management during my studies here.

Also, I was able to acquire numerous skills in a number of subject fields including health economy, information management (Business Intelligence), mobile communication technology and quality management as well as project management. Because this programme puts such a great focus on application, because of how it connects the various fields and disciplines and because of the importance projects have, I think my master’s in eHealth was the best choice I could have made for my education and will give me a head start into a career on the “mega market” that is health.
Sebastian Dost

Before I came to Flensburg, I had completed a dual degree programme “Bachelor of Nursing” in Berlin – meaning I graduated with a bachelor’s degree and had completed a professional education at the same time. I acquired a broad range of knowledge on the health sector there but once I actually started working in the field, I quickly realised how many things still need to change in the health sector and what great potential there is in the area of eHealth. The master’s degree programme eHealth enabled me to combine my medical knowledge with the innovations the future will bring and have an accurate idea about how likely they are to be realised. The combination of my two degrees turned out to be the perfect combination for a successful start on the job market for me.

After having completed a bachelor’s degree in “Health Communication” at Bielefeld University, I was particularly intrigued by the combination of business administration and information and communication technologies in health care – which is why I decided to enrol for the master’s programme “eHealth” in Flensburg. I think interlinking the individual players in the health sector by using information and communication technologies is not only a major chance but also a necessity to meet the changes and challenges the health sector is facing. The mix of theory and practice is what makes this programme so interesting while perfectly preparing us students for successful careers.
Elise Zahn

eHealth – just what the doctor ordered

Before enrolling for this master‘s degree I had studied business administration with a major in hospital management which I think is a great basis for starting a career in the health sector. The master’s degree programme “eHealth” then convinced me to continue studying for a further degree: the curriculum perfectly combines different subjects – the programme puts a great focus on application and is truly innovative offering plenty of possibilities for great careers. I feel very well prepared for the challenges the future of the health industry holds.
Marco Weidemeier

Meinungen

Die enge Verknüpfung von wirtschaftlichen Aspekten mit dem Gesundheitswesen habt mich besonders angesprochen, weswegen ich mich für den Schwerpunkt KHM entschieden habe. Im Studium wurde ich gut auf meine zukünftigen Aufgaben vorbereitet, jetzt freue ich mich darauf, wenn theoretische erlerntes Wissen in der Praxis anzuwenden.
Stephanie Wetjen


Ich habe Meinungen-Petersen-kleinmich für den Schwerpunkt Krankenhausmanagement entschieden, da die Gesundheitsbranche ein interessantes Umfeld mit vielen Möglichkeiten bietet und man durch das Studium ideale  Voraussetzungen für einen erfolgreichen Berufseinstieg erhält.
Jan-Hendrik Petersen


Das StudiumDiana_Siebeneran der Hochschule Flensburg ist eine sehr gute Vorbereitung auf den Berufseinstieg in die Wachstumsbranche Gesundheitswirtschaft.
Die gute Betreuung durch die Professoren und auch ein attraktives Umfeld in der Fördestadt Flensburg tragen zu einem angenehmen Lernklima bei.

Diana Siebener


tecklemburg
Dr. Andreas Tecklenburg, Vorstand Krankenversorgung Medizinische Hochschule Hannover

eHealth im deutschen Gesundheitswesen:

Die deutsche Bevölkerung verändert sich zu einer Altersgesellschaft. Immer mehr ältere Menschen brauchen das Gesundheitswesen. Insbesondere chronische Krankheiten werden zunehmend vom Gesundheitswesen behandelt werden müssen. Chronische Krankheiten bedürfen eines kontinuierlichen Kontaktes zwischen den Patienten und den Leistungserbringern (niedergelassene Ärzte, Krankenhäuser, Physiotherapeuten etc.). Electronic Health (eHealth) bietet mit seinen technischen Möglichkeiten die Voraussetzungen, dass Patienten und Therapeuten zwischen den zwingend notwendigen physischen Kontakten mittels moderner Kommunikationsmittel die Kontinuität der Behandlung fortsetzen können. Insofern hat eHealth nicht nur einen Bequemlichkeitsaspekt sondern eröffnet der älter werdenden Bevölkerung die Möglichkeit auf der einen Seite mobil zu bleiben und auf der anderen Seite länger in der häuslichen Umgebung wohnen zu bleiben. Durch eHealth-Anwendungen kann (immer das Einverständnis des Patienten vorausgesetzt), der behandelnde Arzt mit Hilfe elektronischer Überwachungssysteme auf den Patienten „aufpassen“.

Ein anderer Aspekt ist die Kommunikation zwischen den Leistungserbringern. Viel zu viele Doppeluntersuchungen, Missverständnisse, Informationsdefizite etc. sind heute im deutschen Gesundheitswesen Alltag. Durch verschiedene Budgets, Motivationsanreize und Zulassungsbeschränkungen arbeiten die verschiedenen Sektoren im Gesundheitswesen nicht optimal miteinander. Durch eHealth werden zwar die oben genannten grundsätzlichen Probleme nicht gelöst aber die Kommunikation zwischen den Sektoren wird vereinfacht und damit vielleicht eine neue Kommunikationskultur eingeführt. Für den Patienten hat das den unmittelbaren Vorteil, dass seine Therapeuten sich über die Sektoren hin verstehen und vielleicht in Zukunft weniger Röntgenbilder, Laborwerte und andere Befunde verloren gehen beziehungsweise doppelt erstellt werden müssen.

Damit eHealth etabliert werden kann, brauchen wir Fachleute. Diese Fachleute müssen sowohl den technischen Part als auch den insbesondere das Gesundheitswesen verstehen. Wie schon so häufig in der Vergangenheit hat die Hochschule Flensburg diesen Trend sehr frühzeitig erkannt und bietet jungen Leuten eine entsprechende Ausbildung an. Es kann nicht hoch genug bewertet werden, wenn eine innovative Hochschule solche Trends in der Technologie und der Gesellschaft frühzeitig aufgreift und hier für den Arbeitsmarkt Menschen heranbildet, die nicht nur einen zusätzlichen Service sondern insbesondere Brücken zwischen gesellschaftlichen Gruppen und Schnittstellen zwischen technischen Lösungen modellieren können.


Was sagen unsere Studierenden?

Der Gesundheitsmarkt hat ein unglaubliches Potential. Der Einsatz von Informationstechnologie, insbesondere die Vernetzung untereinander befindet sich erst am Anfang. Mein Erststudium Wirtschaftsinformatik sehe ich als ideale Grundlage mit dem Fachwissen des Masterstudiengangs verknüpft.
Alf Rohde

Der Masterstudiengang eHealth an der FH Flensburg bereitet uns Studierende optimal auf die Berufspraxis im Gesundheitsmarkt vor. Dieser Studiengang hat meine bereits gesammelten Erfahrungen im Bachelorstudiengang Public Health, mit dem Schwerpunkt Gesundheitsmanagement, ergänzt und erweitert.
Des Weiteren fasst das zweijährige Masterstudium viele Kompetenzen aus unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten zusammen. Darunter fallen Gesundheitsökonomie, Informationsmanagement (Business Intelligence), Mobile Kommunikationstechnologie und Qualitätsmanagement sowie Projektmanagement. Durch seine anwendungsorientierte, vernetzte, projektorientierte und interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung ist der Masterstudiengang eHealth für mich die beste Ausbildung für einen optimalen Start in das Berufsleben im „Megamarkt“ Gesundheit!
Sebastian Dost

In meinem Vorstudium, dem dualen Studiengang „Bachelor of Nursing“, in Berlin erwarb ich bereits ein breit gefächertes Wissen im Bereich des Gesundheitswesens und schloss damit ebenso die Berufsausbildung zur „Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegerin“ ab. Doch in der Praxis merkte ich schnell, dass es im Gesundheitswesen noch einiger Veränderungen bedarf und sich ein großes Potenzial im Bereich eHealth befindet. Die Wahl des Masterstudiengangs eHealth ermöglichte mir so die Basis meiner medizinischen Kenntnisse mit den Innovationen, die die Zukunft bringt zu verknüpfen und abzuschätzen, wie realisierbar diese sind. Die Verbindung dieser beiden Studiengänge erwies sich für mich damit als sehr gute Kombination für einen erfolgreichen Berufseinstieg.

Besonders die Kombination aus Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie im Gesundheitswesen hat mich nach meinem Bachelorstudium „Gesundheitskommunikation“ an der Universität Bielefeld dazu veranlasst, den Masterstudiengang „eHealth“ in Flensburg aufzunehmen. Die Vernetzung der einzelnen Akteure im Gesundheitswesen mit Hilfe von verschiedenen Informations- und Kommunikationstechniken sehe ich als große Chance und Notwendigkeit den Veränderungen und Herausforderungen des Gesundheitswesens entgegenzutreten. Die Zusammensetzung aus Theorie und Praxis macht diesen Studiengang besonders interessant und bereitet die Studierende gut auf die Arbeitswelt vor.
Elise Zahn

eHealth als e-Tüpfelchen

Zuvor habe ich Betriebswirtschaftslehre auf Diplom mit dem Schwerpunkt Krankenhausmanagement studiert, was ich bereits für eine gute Grundlage für den beruflichen Einstieg in das Gesundheitswesen halte. Für ein weiterführendes Studium an der Hochschule Flensburg hat mich der Masterstudiengang eHealth einfach überzeugt: optimale Fächerkombination – praxisorientiert und innovativ mit vielfältigen Berufschancen! So bin ich auf zukünftige Herausforderungen in der Gesundheitswirtschaft vorbereitet.
Marco Weidemeier