Projects

At the institute we combine teaching with application-oriented research projects. The projects ICT for Health und PrimCareIT are so-called flagship projects as part of the European strategy for the Baltic Sea Region. These and the other projects listed below, some of which FUAS is the lead partner for, represent innovation of technologies in eHealth. The institute’s professors encourage students (especially those of the master’s programme) to get involved in these projects.

Our Projects

”DEMANTEC”
Logo Demantec

The project DEMANTEC (“dementia and innovative technologies in nursing homes”) is an Interreg5a project. It is dedicated to the topic of dementia and care of people with dementia at different levels.

On the one hand, it is about the use of technological products in the care, on the other hand about the integration of these developments continuing education and education of the nursing staff to counteract against the professional force lack in nursing occupations on both sides of the German Danish border. Leadpartner of the project is the University of Applied Sciences Flensburg.

First Event:
Kick-Off Conference “Dementia – nursing homes and care technologies for citizens living with dementia”, on June 21st 2016 in Apenraa, Denmark

Target Group:
Innovative small and medium-sized enterprises from the entire Baltic Sea Region in the field of Healthcare and investors.

Duration: until 2019
Website: http://www.demantec.eu

”Baltic-Sea-Campus-on-eHealth”

Logo Baltic Sea Campus on eHealth

Funding by the Ministry of Science of Schleswig-Holstein until 2018. A new platform for establishing a leading role of Schleswig-Holstein in the field of eHealth in the Baltic Sea Region.

First event:
eHealth Innovation Market 2016 at the University of Applied Sciences Flensburg

Target Group:
Innovative small and medium-sized enterprises from the entire Baltic Sea Region in the field of eHealth and investors.

Duration: until 2018
Website: Baltic Sea Campus on eHealth

”eIC-german-danish-eHealth-Innovation-Center”
Logo eIC

The German-Danish eHealth Innovation Centre aims to make eHealth solutions accessible and usable for health care providers working on both sides of the border and to make market entry easier for local companies in the Health Care IT industry. This is to be achieved chiefly through know-how transfer in the health care industry across borders. Among the tools to create and promote this cooperation between companies are a German-Danish Health Care IT knowledge and skills database and bilingual eHealth applications.

The project is led by Prof. Dr. Bosco Lehr and was presented with the German-Danish Innovation Award in 2014.

Duration: Ongoing
Read more:  Innovationspreis
Website: german-danish eHealth Innovation Center

”eHealth-for-Regions”
eHfR

The eHealth for Regions network connects experts from the health and IT industry to explore new paths in cross-border health care. eHealth is a major engine for international cooperation in health care and one of the crucial pillars the European strategy for the Baltic Sea Region is footed on.

Currently the eHealth for Regions network is made up of partners from the Baltic States Denmark, Germany, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania and Sweden. The network aims to jointly carry out projects to apply information and communication technologies in health care, promote communication and the sharing of experiences and by doing so increase awareness about and acceptance of eHealth.

The project’s management secretariat was established at FUAS in 2008. As part of the EU’s Baltic Sea Region strategy, the eHealth for Regions network is officially commissioned with the dissemination of eHealth in the Baltic Sea Region.

There are two flagship projects connected to the network: ICT for Health and PrimCareIT. In June 2012 the network was given the status of an Associated Expert Group within the NDPHS (Northern Dimension Partnership in Public Health and Social Well-being) giving it a prominent position in the Baltic Sea Region. The network’s contact and lead person is Prof. Dr. Roland Trill.

”PrimCareIT”
Logo_Web_jpg

As a project partner of the EU INTERREG IVB flagship project „PrimCareIT“ which started in January 2012, Flensburg University of Applied Sciences (FUAS) along with 16 other project partners from 6 countries in the Baltic Sea Region has developed strategies and eHealth solutions to guarantee the provision of primary health care in rural areas. PrimCareIT aims to fight the brain drain caused by doctors and medical professionals leaving rural areas for metropolitan areas. Highly qualified health care professionals working in remote or rural areas often feel isolated or at a disadvantage professionally. A lot of them move to the big cities or even other countries for this reason. By connecting these highly qualified professionals with the help of IT, PrimCareIT wants to raise the attractiveness of rural areas again and ensure the provision of primary health care for the people living in these areas. Medical experts should be able to communicate with each other and constantly expand their knowledge by the means of tele-consultation and tele-mentoring independently of where they are based.

The project’s lead partner is the South Ostrobothnia Health Care District in Finland. Other project partners, aside from FUAS, are institutions and organisations from Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Belarus. The project has an overall budget of 2.56 million euros and receives funds through the EU’s INTERREG IVB Baltic Sea Region programme.

”HANC”
HANC

The promotion of healthy ageing in a healthy region is the overall aim of the Interreg project Healthy Ageing Network of Competences (HANC).

The structure of the HANC network is characterised by a speedy knowledge transfer to facilitate the development and commercialisation of products and services by HANC partners and make them available to local, regional and international markets. Other characteristics are the dynamic cross-sector cooperation and networking between the local stakeholders (from research, industry, health care, local authorities etc.).

”Gesundheitsportal-Flensburg”
Gesundheitsportal

The Gesundheitsportal Flensburg was established by eHealth master’s students for their region in 2011. This service (from the region – for the region, up to date information without advertising) is unique in Germany. The website lists all of the health services offered in Flensburg and groups them into the categories “Get healthy” and “Stay healthy”.

The platform aims to be an important source of information for the people in Flensburg. In the course of the previous semesters new offers such as “health care news”, information on reoccurring or one-time events as well as glossaries and check lists have been developed and added to the website. The number of services offered here will continue to grow as the Health Portal is part of the master’s programme’s curriculum each semester.

Further information that might get lost in the vast amounts of data available on the portal, are posted on the accompanying facebook page.

”VAILLL”

VAILLL

VAILLL is aimed at the management and employees of small and medium sized enterprise, job-seekers and students from universities and other institutions providing continuing education. VAILLL does not focus its efforts on one sector only but makes its classes and programmes available to all industries and sectors, this includes health care as well as industry and the skilled crafts and trades.

The “VAILLL – Virtual Academy for Innovative and Lifelong Learning“ project received EU funding and creates a multitude of opportunities in the field of web-based education for employees and business on both sides of the Danish-German border. The programmes developed and made available for the public included classes on entrepreneurship as well as the processing of aluminium and e-teaching classes on project management.

  • Duration: P2010 – 2013
”ICT-for-Health”
ICT_logo

Flensburg University of Applied Sciences (FUAS) was the lead partner for the “ICT for Health – Strengthening social capacities for the utilisation of eHealth technologies in the framework of an ageing population” project. The project was a flagship project within the European Baltic Sea Region strategy and as such was funded by the EU from 2010 until 2012.

Innovative eHealth solutions can help to improve communication and cooperation between patients and medical professionals (especially in rural areas). Their application can be especially useful to prevent and treat chronical diseases. If patients and doctors use means of electronic communication for example, the provision of health care in rural areas can be improved and made more cost efficient at the same time. Knowledge about eHealth and its acceptance among the public and medical professionals are not advanced enough, however.

The project, accordingly, promoted the creation of know-how and the increase of acceptance of eHealth technologies to prevent and treat illness. The project partners compared eHealth strategies from both national and regional levels as well as examples for best-practice and ultimately developed ways to transfer them to the participating regions.

Over the entire course of the project ICT for eHealth was characterised by a strong focus on application that involved all the eHealth stakeholders in the project – patients, medical professionals, stakeholders from health promotion, research, administration and politics and industry. This approach made it possible to develop online platforms such as https://vivaport.eu and http://www.ehealth4citizen.eu/ addressing the needs of the relevant target group.

19 partners from eight different countries from the Baltic Sea Region participated in the project.

”Gesundheitsregion-NORD”
GRN Logo

FUAS is a founding member of Gesundheitsregion Nord (Health Region North, GRN) established in 2008. More than 60 health service providers and leading universities from the districts of Northern Frisia, Schleswig-Flensburg and the city of Flensburg joined this effort. The joint aim is to improve the provision of health care in the GRN even when skilled professionals are going to be rare and demographic change will impact the region in the future. Flensburg University of Applied Sciences (FUAS) offers its expertise in eHealth and business to the network. Prof. Dr. Roland Trill, FUAS, was the First Chair of the Board from 2008 to 2013.

The project “Regionalmanagement Gesundheitswirtschaft NORD“ now has become a society.

Projekte

Das Institut verbindet die Lehre mit praxisorientierten Forschungsprojekten. Die Projekte ICT for Health und PrimCareIT sind so genannte Flagship-Projekte im Rahmen der Ostseestrategie. Auch die anderen aufgeführten Projekte, teilweise mit der Hochschule Flensburg als Leadpartner, stehen für Innovationen von eHealth-Technologien. Die Mitarbeit in den Projekten seitens der Studierenden insbesondere im Masterstudiengang  wird von den Professoren gefördert.

Unsere Projekte

“DEMANTEC“

Logo Demantec

Bei dem Projekt DEMANTEC („Demenz und innovative Technologien in Pflegeheheimen“) handelt es sich um ein Interreg5a-Projekt. Es widmet sich dem Thema Demenz und der Pflege demenzkranker Personen auf verschiedenen Ebenen.

Zum einen geht es um den Einsatz technologischer Produkte in der Pflege, zum anderen um die Einbindung dieser Entwicklungen in die Weiter- und Ausbildung des Pflegepersonals, um dem Fachkräftemangel in Pflegeberufen auf beiden Seiten der deutsch-dänischen Grenze entgegenzuwirken. Leadpartner des Projektes ist die Hochschule Flensburg.

Erste Veranstaltung:
Kick-Off Konferenz „Demantec – Demenz und innovative Technologien in Pflegeheimen“ am 21.06.2016 in Apenrade, Dänemark

Zielgruppe:
Innovative kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen aus der gesamten Ostseeregion im Bereich Pflege sowie Investoren.

Laufzeit: 2016 bis 2019
Webseite: http://www.demantec.eu

“Baltic-Sea-Campus-on-eHealth“


Logo Baltic Sea Campus on eHealth

Förderung durch das Wissenschaftsministerium von Schleswig-Holstein bis 2018. Eine neue Plattform für den Aufbau einer führenden Rolle von Schleswig-Holstein im Bereich eHealth in der Ostseeregion.

Erste Veranstaltung:
eHealth Innovationsmarkt 2016 an der Hochschule Flensburg

Zielgruppe:
Innovative kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen aus der gesamten Ostseeregion im Bereich eHealth sowie Investoren.

Laufzeit: bis 2018
Webseite: http://www.campus-on-ehealth.net

“eIC-deutsch-dänisches-eHealth-Innovation-Center“

Logo deu-daen eIC

Das Ziel des deutsch-dänischen eHealth Innovation Center ist es, eHealth-Lösungen in der grenzüberschreitenden Versorgung nutz­bar zu machen und ansässigen Unter­nehmen im HealthCare IT-Bereich den Markt­­eintritt zu erleichtern, besonders durch den Know-How-Transfer im Gesundheits­wesen über die Grenzen hinweg. Der Austausch zwischen Unternehmen soll unter anderem mithilfe einer deutsch-dänischen HealthCare IT-Kompetenzdatenbank und bilin­gualen eHealth-Anwendungen ermöglicht werden.

Das Projekt unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Bosco Lehr wurde 2014 mit dem Deutsch-Dänischen Innovationspreis ausgezeichnet.

Laufzeit: Ongoing
Mehr unter: Innovationspreis
Webseite: Deutsch-Dänisches eHealth Innovation Center

“eHealth-for-Regions“
eHfR

Das eHealth for Regions Netzwerk bringt Experten aus der Gesundheits- und IT-Branche zusammen, um neue Wege in der grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsversorgung zu gehen. eHealth ist ein entscheidender Katalysator für die internationale Kooperation im Gesundheitssektor und eine wichtige Säule in der Europäischen Strategie für den Ostseeraum.

Derzeit umfasst das eHealth for Regions Netzwerk Partner aus den Ostseeanrainerstaaten Dänemark, Deutschland, Finnland, Lettland, Litauen und Schweden. Ziel des Netzwerks ist es, gemeinsame Projekte bei der Anwendung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien im Gesundheitswesen durchzuführen, den Erfahrungsaustausch zu fördern und somit die Bekanntheit und Akzeptanz von eHealth zu erhöhen.

Das Management Sekretariat ist seit 2008 an der Hochschule Flensburg angesiedelt. Das eHealth for Regions Netzwerk hat im Rahmen der EU-Ostseestrategie die offizielle Führungsrolle in der Verbreitung von eHealth im Ostseeraum inne.
Im Zusammenhang mit dem Netzwerk stehen zwei Flagship-Projekte: ICT for Health und PrimCareIT. Seit Juni 2012 hat das Netzwerk den Status einer Associated Expert Group in der NDPHS (Northern Dimension Partnership in Public Health and Social Well-being) und damit einen exponierten Platz in der Ostseeregion. Ansprechpartner und Leiter des Netzwerks ist Prof. Dr. Roland Trill.

“PrimCareIT“

Logo_Web_jpg

Im Rahmen des EU-Interreg-IVB-Flagship-Projektes „PrimCareIT“ entwickelte die Hochschule Flensburg seit Januar 2012 gemeinsam mit 16 Partnern aus sechs weiteren Ostsee-Anrainer-Staaten, Strategien und eHealth-Lösungen für die Sicherstellung der hausärztlichen Versorgung im ländlichen Raum. Ziel von PrimCareIT ist die Bekämpfung der Abwanderung von Ärzten und medizinischem Fachpersonal aus ländlichen Regionen in die Ballungszentren. Hochqualifizierte Arbeitskräfte, die in abgelegenen oder ländlichen Gebieten in der Gesundheitsversorgung tätig sind, betrachten sich oft als beruflich isoliert und benachteiligt. Viele wandern deshalb auf Grund der besseren Arbeitsbedingungen in die Städte oder sogar ins Ausland ab. PrimCareIT will durch eine IT-unterstützte Vernetzung dieser hochqualifizierten Fachkräfte dem ländlichen Raum ein Stück seiner Attraktivität zurückgeben und die Gesundheitsversorgung der ansässigen Bevölkerung sichern. Medizinische Experten sollen sich per Tele-Konsultation und Tele-Mentoring unabhängig von ihrem Standort untereinander austauschen und fortbilden können. Lead Partner ist der South Ostrobothnia Health Care District in Finnland. Neben der Hochschule Flensburg sind Institutionen und Organisationen aus Estland, Lettland, Litauen, Finnland, Schweden und Weißrussland an dem Projekt beteiligt. Das Gesamtbudget beträgt 2,56 Mio. EUR und wird mit EU-Mitteln aus dem INTERREG IV B Ostseeprogramm finanziert.

“HANC“
HANC

Aktives Altern in einer gesunden Region zu fördern ist das übergeordnete Ziel des Interreg Projektes Healthy Ageing Network of Competences (HANC).

Schneller Wissenstransfer zur Entwicklung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen und deren Kommerzialisierung durch HANC-Partner für kommunale, regionale und internationale Märkte, sowie eine dynamische und sektorenübergreifende Kooperation und Vernetzung der regionalen Akteure (Wissenschaft, Industrie, Gesundheitswesen, Kommunen etc.) kennzeichnen die erfolgreiche Netzwerkstruktur von HANC.

“Gesundheitsportal-Flensburg“
Gesundheitsportal

Das Gesundheitsportal Flensburg ist ein seit 2011 bestehendes Angebot der Studierenden des MA eHealth für die Region. Dieses Angebot (aus der Region – für die Region, aktuell und werbefrei) ist in Deutschland einmalig. Es listet alle in Flensburg beheimaten Gesundheitsangebote, geordnet in die Rubriken „Gesund werden“ und „Gesund leben“, auf. Es versteht sich als eine wichtige Informationsplattform für die Flensburger Bevölkerung. Neue Service-Angebote wie „Neuigkeiten aus dem Gesundheitswesen“, regelmäßige oder einmalige Termine sowie Lexika und Checklisten wurden in den vergangenen Semestern neu entwickelt und hinzugefügt. Das Angebot wird weiter wachsen, da das Gesundheitsportal in jedem Semester Thema in den Lehrveranstaltungen des MA eHealth ist.

Über die dazugehörige Facebook-Seite werden weitere Information gepostet, die sonst oft im Medienrummel untergehen.

“VAILLL“

VAILLLVAILLL richtet sich an Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter in kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, Arbeitsuchende und Studierende an Hochschulen oder anderen Weiterbildungseinrichtungen. Dabei ist VAILLL nicht auf eine bestimmte Branche ausgerichtet, sondern steht mit seinen verschiedenen Kursen und Möglichkeiten allen Branchen offen, wie z.B. den Bereichen Gesundheitswesen, Industrie und Handwerk.

Das Projekt „VAILLL – Virtuelle Akademie für Innovatives und Lebenslanges Lernen“ wurde von der EU gefördert und bietet Arbeitnehmern und Unternehmen nördlich und südlich der deutsch-dänischen Grenze viele Möglichkeiten im Bereich der webbasierten Weiterbildung. Es wurden Kurse über Entrepreneurship und die Verarbeitung von Aluminimum bis zu einem eTeaching-Kurs über Projektmanagement entwickelt und der Bevölkerung angeboten.

“ICT-for-Health“
ICT_logo

Das Projekt ICT for Health – Strengthening social capacities for the utilisation of eHealth technologies in the framework of ageing population- wurde von der Hochschule Flensburg geleitet. Als ein Flagship-Projekt der EU im Rahmen der Ostseestrategie wurde es von 2010-2012 finanziell von der EU gefördert.

Innovative eHealth-Lösungen können zur Verbesserung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Patienten und medizinischem Fachpersonal (vor allem im ländlichen Raum) beitragen, insbesondere hinsichtlich der Vorbeugung und Behandlung von chronischen Erkrankungen. Per elektronischer Kommunikation, zum Beispiel zwischen Arzt und Patient, kann die Gesundheitsversorgung im ländlichen Raum verbessert und gleichzeitig die Kosteneffizienz im Gesundheitssektor gesteigert werden. Allerdings ist das Wissen über eHealth-Technologien und deren Akzeptanz bei der Bevölkerung und dem medizinischem Personal nicht hinreichend entwickelt.

Dementsprechend förderte das Projekt den Aufbau von Know-how sowie die Akzeptanzsteigerung von eHealth-Technologien zur Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Erkrankungen. Die Projektpartner verglichen nationale wie auch regionale eHealth-Strategien sowie Best-Practice-Beispiele und erarbeiteten Wege für deren Übertragbarkeit in die teilnehmenden Regionen.

ICT for Health zeichnete sich durch einen praxisnahen Verlauf aus, der alle eHealth-Akteure – Patienten, medizinisches Personal, Stakeholder aus Gesundheitsförderung, Wissenschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft – in die Projektarbeit integrierte. So konnten Internetplattformen wie https://vivaport.eu und http://www.ehealth4citizen.eu/ entwickelt werden, die den Bedürfnissen der jeweiligen Zielgruppe entsprechen.

An dem Projekt waren 19 Partner aus acht Staaten der Ostsee-Region beteiligt.

“Gesundheitsregion-NORD“
GRN Logo

Die Hochschule Flensburg ist Gründungsmitglied der 2008 gegründeten Gesundheitsregion NORD. In ihr haben sich über 60 Gesundheitsdienstler und einschlägige Hochschulen aus den Kreisen Nordfriesland, Schleswig-Flensburg sowie der Stadt Flensburg zusammen geschlossen. Ziel ist die Verbesserung der Versorgung im Gebiet der GRN, auch in Zeiten des absehbaren Fachkräftemangels und des demographischen Wandels. Die Hochschule Flensburg bringt ihre eHealth-  und ökonomischen Kompetenzen in dieses Netzwerk ein. Mit Prof. Dr. Roland Trill stellt sie von 2008 bis 2013 den ersten Vorsitzenden.

Die GRN ist nun ein Verein.